Events and Tickets

When deciding on which events to see, I had this philosophy:  See 1 original Olympic game, 1 new Olympic sport, and a sport with little exposure in the U.S.  Jen added another:  1 event in which we can see an American win gold and watch the Stars & Stripes be raised.

With these criteria,  we began looking at purchasing tickets which is not as simple as it may sound.  Tickets went on sale in Brazil in April of 2015, but only for Brazilian citizens.  Each Olympic Country is distributed an allotment of tickets that are sold through distributors.  In the US, I had to register with Co-Sport.

Apparently there was a lottery that was held in June 2015 for first pick at tickets.  This was long before we knew that we even had to buy tickets through Co-Sport.  A few tickets were available but who really wants to see the badminton prelim?

However, Olympic nations that don’t sell many tickets, redistribute their tickets to bigger markets like the U.S.  So on January 7, 2106, a bunch of tickets were going to be up for sale.  At Co-Sport, I had to get into a virtual line and wait my turn.  Once I was allowed in, I’d have 45 minutes to select my tickets and pay.

The night before, Jen and I studied the events, locations, and times.  Since the venues are located in different neighborhoods, we had to pick events that were going to be easy to get to.  We did not want to see beach volleyball at 3:30 only to race across town to watch swimming at 5.

So on the morning of January 7, I had a spreadsheet of dates, times and locations and a priority listing of events we wanted to see.  When the website opened, I was 43rd in line!  I had my choice of events, but of course, not at the times or places that I had on my spreadsheet.  So I had to improvise.  It was some of the most stressful 45 minutes of my life.

We currently have tickets to the following 11 events:

  • Beach volleyball
  • Indoor volleyball
  • Greco-Roman Wrestling (original Olympic sport)
  • Swimming
  • Diving
  • Track and Field
  • Archery
  • Fencing (little exposure in the U.S.)
  • Taekwondo
  • Men’s Gymnastic Finals
  • Weightlifting20160711_124303

 

Leave a Reply

